Steelton Borough Reorganization Meeting January 3, 2006

The regular monthly meeting was called to order at 6:36 p.m. by Mayor Acri, with the pledge of allegiance, followed by an invocation from Mayor Acri. Mayor Acri thanked Judge Lewis for attending.

Upon presentation of Certificates of Election, Oaths of Office were administered by the Honorable Richard Lewis, President Judge of Dauphin County, to the following:

The Honorable Thomas F. Acri, Mayor The Honorable Michael J. Kovach, Councilman The Honorable Jeffery L. Wright, Councilman The Honorable Stephen J. Shaver, Councilman The Honorable Lisa M. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Councilwoman

The newly elected members of Council then assumed their seats joining the following members:

The Honorable Michael K. Albert, Councilman The Honorable Dennis Heefner, Councilman

NOMINATIONS AND NEW BUSINESS:

Mayor Acri opened nominations for President of Council.

Mr. Albert nominated Mr. Kovach to the position of Council President, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar.

There being no other nominations, on a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to elect Mr. Kovach as President.

Mayor Acri opened nominations for Vice-President of Council.

Mr. Albert nominated Mr. Shaver to the position of Council Vice - President, seconded by Mr. Heefner.

There being no other nominations, on a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mr. Heefner, Council members present voted unanimously to elect Mr. Shaver as Vice - President.

Mayor Acri turned over the gavel to President Kovach.

.

President Kovach opened nominations for Chairman Pro-Tem of Council.

Mr. Wright nominated Dr. Szada to the position of Chairman Pro Tem, seconded by Mr. Albert

There being no other nominations, on a motion by Mr. Wright, seconded by Mr. Albert, Council members present voted unanimously to elect Dr. Szada as Chairman Pro-Tem.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Michael G. Musser, II, Borough Secretary/Treasurer.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Kathleen D. Handley, Assistant Borough Secretary.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint David A. Wion, Borough Solicitor.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mr. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Andrew J. Giorgione, Borough Solicitor for Land Negotiations.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint William J. Flannery, Borough Solicitor for Police Negotiations.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Robert Grubic of Herbert, Rowling and Grubic Inc., Borough Engineer.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Craig W. Bachik and Renee Regal of Kairos Design Group, Borough Recreational Engineer.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Robert H. Weidner & George h. Bailey of IEQ Engineering, Borough Mechanical and Plumbing Engineer.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Kenneth A. Lenker, Chief of Police.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Sylvia A. Stoner, Borough Code/Zoning/Planning Officer.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Joseph Conjar, Superintendent of Highway/Water Distribution & Sewer.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Paul E. Wintergrass, IV, Superintendent of Water Filtration & Lab.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Paula Sviben, Community Development Coordinator.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Patrick J. Gehrlein, Main Street Manager.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Eugene Vance, III, Fire Chief.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Brian G. Handley, Assistant Fire Chief.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Victor Brubacher, Jr., Battalion Chief.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Timothy J. Lehman, Emergency Management Coordinator.

On a motion by Mr. Albert, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to appoint Boyer & Ritter, Borough Auditor.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL COMMITTEE'S BY THE PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL.

President Kovach stated that the Committee's will remain the same. He stated that if anyone has any different preferences to please see him.

OFFICIAL ADOPTION OF ROBERT'S RULES OF ORDER

Mr. Shaver motioned to adopt Robert's Rules of Order, seconded by Mr. Wright. Motion approved unanimously.

Mr. Heefner motioned to hire Teresa Sviben full-time as the Code Enforcement Office Secretary to become effective on January 3, 2006 with a pay rate of \$10.40 an hour, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar. Motion approved unanimously.

COUNCIL AND MAYOR'S CONCERNS

Mayor Acri – stated that he is looking forward to working with everyone over the next few years. He stated that 2006 will bring a lot of positive changes to the community.

Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar – stated that she would like to make an addition to the calendar included in Council's packets. She asked that Council add a Fire House Meeting on the first Wednesday evening of the month at 7:00 PM at the Fire House.

Mr. Kovach – thanked everyone for coming. He stated that he's very excited about what's coming for the future of the town. He stated that Council will continue to work for the people of Steelton, to make it a better place.

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Mr. Wright, seconded by Mrs. Wiedeman-Krosnar, Council members present voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 6:46 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael G. Musser, II Borough Secretary